Fresh Strawberry Jam

I loved it when grandma cooked the strawberry jam. I think I liked to eat fresh strawberries more than I liked to help her cook the jam. I would have to cut up the berries and prepare them for her while she was busy cooking up a batch on the stove. I think I ate more of the berries than I ended up cutting for her. Every few slices I had to pop one into my mouth. Grandma uses to scold me and would tell me there wouldn’t be any berries left for her to cook.

Ingredients: strawberry jam

 

  • 6 cup strawberries — sliced
  • 2 boxes pectin
  • 1 3/4 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan, combine strawberries and pectin, mashing or crushing berries to blend completely.
  2. Bring mixture to a boil. Boil hard for one minute, stirring constantly.
  3. Add honey and lemon juice.
  4. Return to a rolling boil for five minutes, stirring constantly.
  5. Remove from heat.
  6. Skim off foam.
  7. Ladle into hot sterilized jars. Seal.
  8. Makes eight 1/2 pints.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.